By Sulayman Bah
Serrekunda East yesterday evening emerged Super Nawettan title winnersSerrekunda East 2
after a nervy penalty shoot-out.
Regulation time ended with score at 0-0 and it was not until on penalties that
East managed to ease past a robust Bakau side. Both sides fluffed in frontof goal but it was East Bi who had the final laugh as they clutched
the 23rd edition of the Premier Games sponsored championship and their
eight title  becoming 70,000 richer.
Sunday’s match was the rematch of the 2009 final edition that was
beset by crowd trouble and violence leading to suspension of players.
Record crowd
East mini-stadium was the scene of a massive turnout of fans. The
entrances witnessed long queues even before the start of the game,
prompting the suggestion that the final should have been held at the
30,000 strong capacity Bakau Independence Stadium.
SK East’s Ebou Sanyang grabbed the leading goal scorer boot on three goals.