Savoy: Namibia goal an offside

By Sulayman Bah
Gambia coach Raoul Savoy has slammed what he called the referee’s poor decision sayingSCORPIONS OUT TO PROVE A POINT
Namibia’s decisive second goal was an offside.
Gambia got booted out of the World Cup for Russia 2018 in the
preliminary stage biting the dust to the Brave Warriors on a final 2-1
score in the second leg.Gambia raced into an early lead with Pa Amat Dibba’s delectable shot
finding its way to the back of the net after ten minutes. But the
hosts were soon on level terms minutes from break before adding
another in the second-half.
Stephanous broke free in the box to lob the ball past an on rushing
Gambian keeper AlagieNyabally granting Namibia date with Guinea
Conakry in the qualifiers. But Scorpions gaffer Savoy voiced shock at
the referee’s decision insisting it was a clear offside.
‘I don’t know why the referee allowed that goal but it was an offside.
The boys played but we were unlucky’, he said in post-match comment.
The 41-year-old, tied down to a two-year deal and tasked to rebuild
the team, is expected to meet football federation top brass to a
detailed account of how it went wrong for Gambia following an
impressive start.
The Scorpions wouldn’t be in action till March 22nd next year when
they will take on Mauritania for the African Nations Cup qualifiers.